Wednesday, 19 September 2012

Externally Aided Project Cell would be formed

Dehradun:(Page Three News Network )Separate EAP (Externally Aided Project) Cell would be formed for externally aided development projects, in which consultants and economists would be included. The Cell would maintain coordination with various departments and expedite the projects.
The decision to this effect was taken in a meeting of EAP chaired by Chief Secretary Alok Kumar Jain at Secretariat on Tuesday.
Chief Secretary Jain said that Uttarakhand being under the category of Special State has been provided with several facilities in externally aided projects that included low State Share ratio. He directed the officers concerned to keep all those projects relating to infrastructure development that had no budget provision in the State under EAP. He advocated giving priority to projects relating to structural facility development. He instructed the officers to expedite the ongoing projects and prepare proposals for new projects and forward them to the Centre. He also asked them to study about the EAP guidelines.
Mr. Jain stating that the projects pertaining to tourism were till 2017, instructed the officers to expedite the projects in coming two years and present new proposals. He said that fund for Lakhwad and Byasi Hydro-power projects also would be provided from EAP.  He said that drinking water would be provided to 3000 villages and target to provide water and total sanitation to 9000 villages had been set. All those projects for urban development not under JNNURM would be included in EAP. Besides, Mr. Jain said that restructuring of urban units would be undertaken. Education Council, SCRT, cement modernization, commercial education and improvement in quality would also be included under it. He laid emphasis on increasing the income of villagers through poultry, cattle rearing and dairy and including diversification of animal husbandry projects under it.
The meeting was attended by Principal Secretary Planning S Ramaswami, Secretary Power SS Sandhu, Secretary Finance Radha Raturi, Secretary Urban Development Umakant Panwar, Secretary School Education Manisha Panwar, Director General School Education RK Sudhanshu, Secretary Animal Husbandry RC Pathak and other senior officers.

You May Also Like


Popular Posts