Saturday 13 October 2012

BJP wins Tehri Lok Sabha by-election

Dehradun (Page3 New Network)- In what is being seen as a setback to the Congress in general ,Uttarakhand chief minister Vijay Bahuguna and in particular the party candidate Saket Bahguna
Click on Image to See the full Chart

lost to BJP’s Mala Rajlakshmi Shah by a margin of over 23,000 votes, in the Tehri Lok Sabha by-election, counting for which concluded just a while ago.
Incidentally, Saket is chief minister Vijay Bahuguna’s son.
The Tehri parliamentary segment is spread over three districts of Tehri, Uttarkashi and Dehra dun.
While the Congress candidate had an edge of about 3500 votes in Uttarkashi district and over 750 votes in Tehri district, he lost in Dehra Dun district by over 24,700 votes, which sealed his fate.
The Tehri parliamentary segment was earlier represented by Vijay Bahuguna, father of  Saket Bahuguna.
However, on being made the chief minister of Uttarakhand, Vijay Bahuguna resigned from his Tehri Lok Sabha seat and contested from the Sitarganj assembly segment, a couple of months back, from where he won by a record margin.

You May Also Like


Popular Posts